Labour and Learn

The Robin Smith Meditation Garden and the Heritage Rose Garden at the Saskatoon Forestry Farm Park and Zoo need regular maintenance. The City of Saskatoon maintains the paths and helps us with supplying mulch to keep the need for weeding manageable. Still gardens this size can get overwhelming if only a few people show up for work bees. Anyone and everyone is invited to participate in the maintenance of these gardens. You will work along seasoned workers and are sure to pick up some pointers on pruning or deadheading.
 
Both gardens continue to provide teaching opportunities for both seasoned and not so familiar gardeners. Some mature plants need to be dug up occasionally to be divided, and some lucky volunteer may go home with some new plant material if it cannot be used at the gardens.  On occasion a lot of the shrubs in the rose garden need to be hard pruned, and we will be looking at transplanting some of the peonies to sunnier spots. etc, etc.
 
Lots of work for some or a small job for many. Here is your opportunity to volunteer in the community, maybe you are a Master Gardener, who needs to put in some volunteer time, perhaps you are an appartment or condo dweller who would like an opportunity to get your hands dirty from time to time. Here is your chance.
 
See you at the gardens, don't forget your tools, and some mosquito repellent.
 
 
 

2018 Dates for Labour and Learn

Saturday, May 5, 9 am
Saturday, May 26, 9 am
Saturday, June 16, 9 am
Tuesday, June 19, 6.30 pm
Saturday, July 7, 9 am
Tuesday, July 10, 6.30 pm
Saturday, July 28, 9 am
Tuesday, July 31, 6.30 pm
Saturday, August 18, 9 am
Tuesday, August 21, 6.30 pm
Saturday, September 15, 9 am
Saturday, September 29, 9 am